Minister's Office
Permanent Secretary's Office
Annual Reports

The Permanent Secretary - Egly Pantelakis

Egly Pantelakis was born in Nicosia and is a graduate of the English School Nicosia and of the Cyprus National Music Conservatory. She has obtained diplomas in piano teaching and performing including the Licentiate of the Royal Schools of Music (L.R.S.M. performing).

She holds a B.Sc. Degree in Economics from the London School of Economics and Political Science and an M. Sc. Degree in Administrative Sciences from the City University, in London. She successfully completed, the Workshop in Environmental Economics, of the Institute for International Development of the University of Harvard.

Egly Pantelakis has started her career at the Planning Bureau, (where, for many years, she worked in the Cyprus EU relations section), reaching the position of Director of Planning, in the Directorate of Development Policy. In parallel she was the national Coordinator (at a technocratic level) for the promotion of the Lisbon Strategy. She was appointed Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture, Natural Resources and the Environment in 2010, and since 2014 she is the Permanent Secretary of Ministry of Education and Culture.

Egly Pantelakis has represented Cyprus at many International Conferences, as well as at various Ministerial Conferences and Councils of Ministers of the European Union. She has been a Founding member and a member of the Executive Committee of the society Friends of the L.S.E. in Cyprus as well as a member of the Town Planning Commission and the Board of Directors of the European Lifelong Learning Programmes Foundation. She was also the President of the Board of Directors of the Agricultural Insurance Organization.

At present, Egly Pantelakis is the president of the Board of Directors of the Foundation of the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra. She is also the President of the Board of Directors of the Foundation of the Museum Costas Argyrou, as well as of various Committees relating to culture and education. Finally she is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Cyprus Institute and a member of the Commonwealth Partnership for Technology Management.

Web Services - Cyprus Ministry of Education and Culture